Medicaid is the largest program designed to provide medical and health-related services to people with low incomes, and pay for covered medical services. Title 19 of the Social Security Act is a program that provides medical assistance for certain individuals and families with low incomes and resources. The Medicaid program is funded through a cooperative venture between the Federal and State governments. Within broad national guidelines which the Federal government provides, each of the States:

  1. establishes its own eligibility standards;
  2. determines the type, amount, duration, and scope of services;
  3. sets the rate of payment for services; and
  4. administers its own program.

Assistive technology devices can be purchased as Durable Medical Equipment (DME) under this program. Once Medicaid purchases a device for an individual, the device belongs to the individual and not Medicaid.

Eligibility Requirements

To qualify for Medicaid, an individual must meet income and resource limits, and be medically needy or fall into an eligibility category specified by your state. Anyone receiving Supplementary Security Income (SSI) benefits is automatically eligible. Medicaid will only purchase equipment if the individual has a direct medical need for the specific equipment is proven. There must also be a doctor's prescription.

Application Process

You can apply for Medicaid at the local offices of the Social Security Administration.

Medicaid Medical Policy for Your State

Alabama: Medicaid Policy

Alaska: Medicaid Policy

Arizona: Medicaid Policy

Arkansas: Medicaid Policy

California: Medicaid Policy

Colorado: Medicaid Policy

Connecticut: Medicaid Policy

Delaware: Medicaid Policy

District of Columbia: Medicaid Policy

Florida: Medicaid Policy

Georgia: Medicaid Policy

Hawaii: Medicaid Policy

Idaho: Medicaid Policy

Illinois: Medicaid Policy

Indiana: Medicaid Policy

Iowa: Medicaid Policy

Kansas: Medicaid Policy

Kentucky: Medicaid Policy

Louisiana: Medicaid Policy

Maine: Medicaid Policy

Maryland: Medicaid Policy

Massachusetts: Medicaid Policy

Michigan: Medicaid Policy

Minnesota: Medicaid Policy

Mississippi: Medicaid Policy

Montana: Medicaid Policy

Nebraska: Medicaid Policy

Nevada: Medicaid Policy

New Hampshire: Medicaid Policy

New Jersey: Medicaid Policy

New Mexico: Medicaid Policy

New York: Medicaid Policy

North Carolina: Medicaid Policy

North Dakota: Medicaid Policy

Ohio: Medicaid Policy

Oklahoma: Medicaid Policy

Oregon: Medicaid Policy

Pennsylvania: Medicaid Policy

Puerto Rico: Medicaid Policy

Rhode Island: Medicaid Policy

South Carolina: Medicaid Policy

South Dakota: Medicaid Policy

Tennessee: Medicaid Policy

Texas: Medicaid Policy

Utah: Medicaid Policy

Vermont: Medicaid Policy

Virginia: Medicaid Policy

Washington: Medicaid Policy

West Virginia: Medicaid Policy

Wisconsin: Medicaid Policy

Wyoming: Medicaid Policy